top of page


Ashtead Independents win both seats

A big “thank you” to all Ashtead residents who voted for their Ashtead Independent (AI) candidates – both of whom were elected with significant majorities on 2 May 2024.

Gerry Sevenoaks was elected for Ashtead Park Ward and Andy Smith for Ashtead Lanes and Common. We are gratified that the people of Ashtead have, once again, put their trust and confidence in us to represent their views and to continue to work for the local community.

Ashtead Independents secured 56.3 % of the total number of votes cast.


Your Ashtead Independent Councillors are:

Mole Valley District Council now comprises 31 Liberal Democrat Councillors, six Ashtead Independents and two Conservatives. This means that the Informal Ashtead Independent Group remains the official opposition. Whilst this puts a great deal of responsibility on Ashtead Councillors, we will intensify our efforts to consult residents widely to ensure their voice is heard loud and clear.

Remember, that while the Ashtead Independents are registered with the Electoral Commission, our Constitution and Rules make clear each Councillor can vote independently with no political whip. It is therefore important that your Ward Councillors are made aware of your views.

During the Election a number of local issues were raised by residents which we will be pursuing and reporting back on. If you wish to contact us, please use this website or our Councillor email addresses at MVDC . We are here to help and assist residents with any local matters.

Please visit us and get in touch especially if you would like to join us!


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page